Ok, we’re in the veggie swing and the days are getting warmer! We need light dinners with lots of green and plenty of flavour. Even more so because our trip to Florida is coming up fast and I want to feel healthy and energised - rather than completely shattered. Do you ever find that when you go on holiday? Running around like an idiot, trying to get everything done, and the moment you can relax, you get a cold/headache or just need to sleep for 10 hours straight! I used to worry, thinking I should be getting up early on holiday, so we can get in as many activities as possible - but now? I’m all about the holiday lie in. It’s got to be at least a 35:65 ratio of lie-ins to early-start-activity-days. Personally I’d go with a lie in every day and just stay up late every night, but Chris and the kids won’t let me get away with it. Let’s talk risotto. Another vegetarian recipe that those meat-eaters will devour - without the need for bacon!

Creamy risotto, topped with asparagus, mangetout, tomatoes and radishes, then finished off with creme fraiche and pesto. Soooo good! If there’s anything in the world that makes me feel like a grown up (says the 38 year old woman) it’s slowly stirring a risotto with a glass of wine in hand. Makes me feel quite Nigella-ish!! Add whatever veggies you fancy - tenderstem broccoli, peas, leeks, spring greens - all work perfectly. This for dinner, and my avocado breakfast bowl for brunch (have you seen my recipe video for it yet?) will make you feel amazing!

The Spring Vegetable Risotto with Creamy Pesto Recipe:

 

Spring Vegetable Risotto with Creamy Pesto - 32Spring Vegetable Risotto with Creamy Pesto - 30Spring Vegetable Risotto with Creamy Pesto - 91Spring Vegetable Risotto with Creamy Pesto - 82Spring Vegetable Risotto with Creamy Pesto - 33Spring Vegetable Risotto with Creamy Pesto - 14Spring Vegetable Risotto with Creamy Pesto - 98Spring Vegetable Risotto with Creamy Pesto - 34Spring Vegetable Risotto with Creamy Pesto - 66